Tribes by mode of dressing:Igbo tribe

Fashion is one of the unique differentiating factor of Nigeria tribes.The different tribes in Nigeria have specific wears for which they well known for and differnt ways of dressing.I will post few of these and improve on it with research.The three major Nigerian tribes;Igbo,Hausa and yoruba will be my focus with few minor tribes.

  1. IGBO: The Igbo people have different attires and ways of dressing they are known for.It was said that formally the young maidens tied wrapper;one covering just their breasts and the other from their waist to a little bellow their buttocks leaving their stomach bare.They wear jigida(waist-beads)on their waists and other ornaments of beautification.The married women tie their wrapper covering all parts of their body,while the men tie wrapper covering from their waist downwards and leaving their chest bare.

      But as fashion elvoves the Igbos are now majorly knowm for their isi-ago appareal and a red cap for the men and the women a lace blouse and a double wrapper adorned with beads.

igbo

wrapper igbo

 

Isiagu

 

 

Published by

OGONNA

I woke up and discovered my skin is chocolate.My hair is kinky n' curly.I am of Igbo descent,an ethnic groups in Nigeria.I was named Ogonna and my grand father Ifeonu and now my name in full is OGONNA IFEONU!This is me,this is who I am,no matter how much I bleach,it doesn't cleanse my black bom-bom or whiten my black root. I wear plastic elephant tusk as neckpiece and am a sucker for beaded bracelets.I wear my kinky hair plenty times and answer Ogonna fully no matter how local it may sound to you. My grandmother who gave me the name still tells me proudly that she wouldn't have chosen a better name for me.She name me even before she saw me,on the stairs of our house on her way for my "omugwo"before she reached for the stairs she called out ..."Ogonna"....Her name will be Ogonna for God has been indeed merciful!Ankara prints gives me joy and gladens my soul.It is a very much active part of my wardrobe not only for Fridays and Sundays . I like when a guy approaches me,introduces himself as Chibuike and not George and when I say am Ogonna ,He is like omg! So you are Igbo and am like Oh yes! and then ,at that moment we let the English slide and go down speaking Igbo,not because we can't speak English fluently but because we identify with our roots. I carry my hair in twist out,bantuknot out,braids out,African threads out and in its kinky and curly state more than I carry other hair extensions in a year. I understand the concept of westernization but totally not as it applies to me.As epic as I seem,I feel totally cool and awesome!!!Because I am me and being me is the colliest thingy.....You should be you !!! I like to think that am awesome and oh yeah!I am awesome!! if struggling to be heard in a society which says you should be seen and not heard is feminism,well am a proud feminist too...because i can't keep quiet when God has given me the power of speech just the same way he has given to everybody. Am that one ash hair in my black hair.....

Leave a comment